RS Cars

Ford RS Models Recognised by the RS Owners Club of Australia.

Thirty years ago, in 1970, Ford introduced its first-ever RS-badged car, the Escort RS1600. The RS (Rallye Sport) identity has been an important part of Ford’s sporting image ever since. Over the years the Rallye Sport name has been applied to 19 spectacular road car models, which often proved their point by winning in races, rallies, in rallycross – and in the marketplace.

The ‘RS’ badge has never been applied lightly, for each and every model and derivative has offered outstanding performance, roadholding, vehicle safety and value for money. RS-badged Fords have always shared a proud sporting tradition and have been built in many different forms. There have been front-engined or mid-engined types, front-wheel-drive, rear-wheel-drive or four-wheel-drive cars, with four-cylinder or six-cylinder normally-aspirated or turbocharged engines. Many have employed wind tunnel testing to evolve innovative aerodynamic features such as the rear aerofoils fitted to Sierra and Escort RS Cosworths. All have pushed out the boundaries of technology and all have been successful in motorsport.

The original RS-badged Ford – the Escort RS1600, was the first-ever Ford to use a 16-valve twin-overhead-camshaft engine and the first to be assembled in the new Advanced Vehicle Operation factory at Aveley in Essex. It also became the first Ford model to be sold through an expanding network of specialised Rallye Sport dealerships.

The Club caters for the owners of genuine Ford Rallye Sport cars:

Escort Twin Cam Escort RS1800 Sierra RS Cosworth
Escort RS1600 Escort Mexico Mk2 Sierra RS500 Cosworth
Escort Mexico Escort RS2000 Mk2 Sierra Sapphire RS
Escort RS2000 Mk1 Escort RS1600i 4X4 Sierra Sapphire RS
Capri RS2600 Escort RS Turbo S1 Fiesta RS Turbo
Capri RS3100 Escort RS Turbo S2 Fiesta RS1800
Capri 2800T Escort RS2000 Mk5 Escort RS Cosworth
Escort RS2000 Mk6 Escort RS1700T RS200
Focus RS Mk1 Focus RS Mk2 Focus RS500
Focus RS Mk3